Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Wood hive VS polystyrene hive

Has anyone tried polystyrene hive equipment? Or is wood the best hive type?

Default Re: Wood hive VS polystyrene hive

After watching a lot of German videos, I ordered 20 Dadant deep hive bodies in 2011 to make into quads, to overwinter mating nucs in. Probably the most worthless piece of equipment I've ever purchased. Don't fit standard frames, very small and inadequate shelf for frames to sit on, Condensation issues. Lots of other comments if you search Dadant here.

First hive was polystyrene. I was happy to give it away - bottom, deeps, supers, feeder, top and healthy bees.

I've been using BeeMax hives for the past five years or so. Painted some, left some natural. I suggest painting. I do have them in partial shade under pine trees.

Ants love them, those nasty big black ones.

I don't move these hives and they have held up well. A normal wood hive body/super will fit on top but it looks weird. The inside dimensions are the same, but the BeeMax is wider so the outer edge sticks out.

I'm not so impressed, but they've worked. I have not noticed better bees than other wood hives.

No plans to order more, nor do I have somebody I don't like to give them to.

Grant
    Jackson, MO
    Beekeeping With Twenty-five Hives: https://www.createspace.com/4152725

If you want to put a standard box on top a Dadant type, just staple a 1x2 on the top and bottom. It will fit the outside perfectly without a ledge to catch rain.

I still have about ten of these unassembled. If someone local is still determined to try them I would sell them at my cost..Which three years ago was less that retail today.

If you live in a very cold climate they might be worth it. But the increased ventilation you have to give them to offset the condensation issues would probably eliminate the additional insulation benefits.