Default Drones this late?

Yesterday we had some pretty warm weather here. I went and took a look at my hives to make sure no mice would be getting in over winter and there was a bunch drones hanging around. I'm new to the beekeeping game, but isn't this very very late to still have drones? I'm wondering what's going on. I know I saw hives kicking out drones several weeks ago and I thought that was the end of them.

Just for reference I live close to Detroit, Mi (just across the border in Canada)

Default Re: Drones this late?

Queenless? Did they look fuzzy new or old and beat-up. I understand the growing season is somewhat extended around the lakes due to heat capicitance of the water....although still seems pretty late. I havn't seen a drone in 3 weeks in Kentucky.

They did look hairless and beat up so they must be pretty old.

It is possible that they don't have a queen....haven't looked in my hives in a while. I can't get a queen this late anyways, so I just made sure they had stores and kept them closed up to sort any problems out themselves.

I had a similar question about a month ago. I'm still seeing drones as well (I live in Connecticut), but someone from BC, I think, told me that his bees frequently don't kick the drones out until well into winter. You can see that thread here: http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...?290253-Drones

I have an observation window in my hive, so I've been continuing to peek in, and everything seems normal. As a result, I think my Canadian friend may be right, so I've stopped worrying.

I guess, this is the short answer. You might have a problem, you might not. There's no way to know unless you open the hive, but at this point in the year, it's probably too late to do anything about it anyway.