Default Newbie with no-bees from Ohio

Hello all. I hail from southeast Ohio. I was recently introduced to the amazing world of bees from a friend who owns a hive in New York state.
    We were on a trip in a car for two hours, during which time this "friend" filled my head with bee information and to say the least, I became very fascinated with bees and bee keeping. I have always had an
    interest in beekeeping, but did not know how to get started.

I then contacted my local bee keepers club (Mid Ohio Valley Bee Keepers) and signed up to attend a class on bee keeping for beginners. My wife and I attended and this only fueled
    my interest in bees.

I have read, and am reading, as well as researching on the web, everything I can about keeping bees.
    I will be reading a lot here as well , and may ask a total newb question for clarification if I do not understand something.

My plan is to obtain all of my equipment this winter and be ready for my bees come spring.

Thanks for having me here.

Dave

Default Re: Newbie with no-bees from Ohio

Welcome to your new addiction.

Welcome from another Ohioan!

Great plan - you have all winter to absorb all sorts of information and get your feet wet in the spring.

Welcome Dave, I live just down the river from you in Belpre, Mann Lake is a good place to buy your hive materials, orders over $100.00 ship for free, this is their link http://www.mannlakeltd.com/ , the Washington county bee inspector also has a small bee supply store up on 676, he is a member of your bee club....I wish you well in your new hobby.
    Bill...in Southeast Ohio

Welcome! This has been my first year keeping bees. Like you, I started over the winter and took a beginner's course over the winter. Although I had read extensively, that course brought up even more questions and the rest of the winter was spent learning yet more. I am still learning, and always will be. In school year equivalents, I am maybe now (almost) in 3rd grade.