Default How is my first colony doing?

I live in CA zone 9b and checked the colony last weekend. I had 2 deeps and one shallow. Nothing was in the shallow so I took it and and queen excluder off. The first deep super only had a very small amount of uncapped honey a little pollen and the rest were empty cells. I added the second super when the first was about 70% drawn and they never made anymore comb in it since then. My second deep super is very heavy and all frames that are drawn have honey most of which is capped. So is this normal and if so how good is it for a first year colony. Also is there anything else I should do before next year?

Default Re: How is my first colony doing?

I am new at the beekeeping game so I am trying to learn as I go. You don't tell us in your post what kind of Bees you are keeping or where Zone 9B is or where in that zone you are.

From reading your post, I am guessing this zone thing is based upon a temperature planting guide??That zone - if based on low temperatures and used as a planting guide runs all over the place but depending on where in the central valley you may be, the central valley tends to heat up early if not too far north so, I would anticipate flowers, nectar, pollen available maybe as early as late march???This might effect amount of honey to leave on the hives.

It sounds like you have one hive with 2 deep supers. One with bees and presumably brood and one super loaded with honey -- center frames are brood and exterior frames with some honey/pollen and maybe empty??

Deep supers frames full of honey -- each frame weighing about 5 pounds if all honey. So with 10 frames about 50 pounds of honey. If 8 frames, about 40 pounds.

I would think that if you had 50 pounds of honey for Russian bees, that would suffice for winter -- obviously checking them once in a while and feeding as needed.