Default Dadant Push In Cell Protectors

Anyone had any experience with these cell protectors and what did you think?

http://www.dadant.com/catalog/produc...roducts_id=887
    44 years, been commercial, outfits up to 4000 hives, now 120 hives and 200 nucs as a hobby, selling bees. T (mostly).

Default Re: Dadant Push In Cell Protectors

I used the type that hangs between the frames for awhile. It was early in my queen rearing and I wanted to be sure the queens were able to emerge. Well, when I used cell protectors my % acceptance was very low...40-60%. I asked Dr Rick Fell, who told me he believes that cell protectors interfere with pheromone transfer from the pupa, through the cell wall, and to the bees. I stopped using them and the % acceptance went up significantly. I no longer use them.

If I want to re-queen queen-right colonies with queen cells placed up in the supers, I would still use them.

Interesting observation Michael.

I've never used them for cells into nucs before, but this season have had a heckuva lot of cells getting torn down, one nuc yard of the nucs I checked around 50%. Other yard using the same batch of cells around 100% acceptance though so I think it has to do with the particular bees not the cells, anyhow I've ordered 500 of these protectors just to try them out. But thought I'd get others opinions also so thanks for the insight, never considered pheromone transfer. I have heard it said that if you protect the cell they kill the virgin when she emerges so in the end there is no difference, maybe the pheromone thing is why.

Keen to hear insights from others also.
    44 years, been commercial, outfits up to 4000 hives, now 120 hives and 200 nucs as a hobby, selling bees. T (mostly).