Default Question about Queenless colony w/ emergency queen cups and introduction of new queen

Hi, this is my first year beekeeping. I had a very strong colony that swarmed August 3rd. I lost that swarm as they got away. The colony swarmed again exactly a week later. August 10th. I was able to catch that swarm and hived it. The original colonies new virgin queen was able to mate and I noticed young larvae at my last inspection last weekend 9-1-13 3 weeks.

The swarm I believe is queen less. It has been 5 weeks and there are no eggs or larvae. This queen should of been one week ahead of the original colonies virgin queen by my calculations. On my inspection two days ago I noticed queen cups but no eggs or larvae. I am assuming the virgin queen did not make it back from her nuptial flight. I am going to assume that one of the workers will start laying eggs hence the emergency queen cups.

I ordered a new queen which will be here in a few days. When I introduce her to the hive, do I need to take out the emergency queen cups? Do I need to find and take out the laying worker bee? Will the colony realize there is a real queen and accept her and then destroy the emergency queen cups themselves?
    Will the queen and the laying worker bee battle? Should I not do anything at all and let them work it out?

Default Re: Question about Queenless colony w/ emergency queen cups and introduction of new q

Do you know that you have laying workers? The telltale sign is multi

Default Re: Question about Queenless colony w/ emergency queen cups and introduction of new q