Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Fructose Pump

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Vancouver WA
    Posts
    11

    Default Fructose Pump

    Im looking to get a fructose pumping unit is there any way i can make one myself theres one on dadant for 1,500 I just need it for a little till I earn some money to buy a nice one

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    groveton tx
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    We've always just used pacer pumps with 5.5 horse engines. Can get it at any hardware or fleet store. I can fill twice as many feeders as a dadant pump in any given time period.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anthony, New Mexico USA
    Posts
    414

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    babybee, does the pacer pump gives you the ability to stop and go from feeder to feeder?. I am also looking for an alternative to the expensive dadant pumps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Stafford, Virginia
    Posts
    289

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    I bought a 3" trash pump from Harbor Freight for 300.00. I had to buy some equipment to make it work with a standard garden hose, but it fills a two gallon feeder in less than 30 seconds. I mean that sucker moves!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    VENTURA, California, USA
    Posts
    3,604

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    Quote Originally Posted by MichaBees View Post
    babybee, does the pacer pump gives you the ability to stop and go from feeder to feeder?. I am also looking for an alternative to the expensive dadant pumps.
    I have a Dadant pump.
    This is how it works when you stop pumping syrup. It has a "T" in the supply line that pumps the syrup back into the syrup tank. I suppose you could put a pressure relief valve in the line. But, valves can get sticky and cause problems later.
    BTW: flush out the pump and fill it with mineral oil for storage. The Dadant pump has a 3/4" pipe rizer for that purpose.
    Good luck
    Last edited by BEES4U; 09-06-2013 at 08:39 AM. Reason: spelling
    Ernie
    My websitehttp://bees4u.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Flora,IL
    Posts
    2,646

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    We use a diaphram type chemical pump... owrks greeat, they run about 500 bucks and run on 12 volts..... they will even pump room temp honey

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    groveton tx
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    Michabees, yes you can go from feeder to feeder. We use a diesel nozzle and 1.5 inch hose. I would doubt it takes 5 seconds to fill a feeder. I will say that you have to run the engine at a slow idle. We also use the pacer pumps for filling our totes on our trucks from our large tanks. For that we use a 2 inch discharge. I should say that we thin our syrup 25 percent. To fill my truck with 1200 gallons it take about 15 mins

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NE Calif.
    Posts
    2,299

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    I just blew up another gas trash pump an hour ago. Crankshaft bearing went out.This is the second Duromax (cheap china pump) I have gone through.This one almost made it through a tanker load.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fresno CA USA
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    This is a pump I build 5.5 Honda 6to1 direct drive to a bronze gear it you build it right it will last. The first I built is over 15 years oldimage.jpgimage.jpg

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NE Calif.
    Posts
    2,299

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    Honda motor+ bronze gear pump looks bulletproof.
    After my junk China pump crapped out yesterday I rigged up an old Kelley bronze honey pump and was back in business. Should have done that to begin with.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montgomery County, NY
    Posts
    1,693

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    Quote Originally Posted by davidsbees View Post
    This is a pump I build 5.5 Honda 6to1 direct drive to a bronze gear it you build it right it will last. The first I built is over 15 years oldimage.jpgimage.jpg
    You direct connect doesnt overspeed your pump head?

    I had mine direct connect with a coupler but the pump was litterally screaming so I hooked it up using a 2 to 4 inch pulley. I like your safety cage. I been thinking about putting something similar on mine.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Spokane, Washington, USA
    Posts
    713

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    From what I understand its not a direct coupler but a gear reducer.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Rader, Greene County, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    5,898

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    The Honda GX160-HX2 3/4" Shaft with 6 to 1 Gear Reduction would bring typical 3600 RPM engine speed down to 600 RPM.

    http://www.helmuthrepair.com/product...HP-Engine.html
    ultracrepidarian >> noting or pertaining to a person who criticizes, judges, or gives advice outside of his expertise

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Flora,IL
    Posts
    2,646

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    sotera md 400 well work fine for lower volumes (wouldn't want one for a tanker) 450 on ebay all day long. easy to clean. 12 volt or 110...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    fresno CA USA
    Posts
    111

    Default Re: Fructose Pump

    I use a 1inch gear pump half throttle is the sweet spot for pumping with two 3/4 75' hoses going. the pressure relief is set to 65 lbs. image.jpgimage.jpg with 6:1 reduction it can do some damage with out a guard.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads