Hybrid View

Default new member from Vancouver, BC

Hi all I have been silently gleaning all I can from this site which is a fantastic resource!
    My wife and I have been dabbling in beekeeping for near 10 years and currently have 4 hives, 2 in a community garden and 2 in a friends backyard. Urban beekeeping is great! Still lots of flow, the biggest challenge is the wet weather here.
    Malachi

Default Re: new member from Vancouver, BC

Welcome Malachi!
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

I am also a new member from Vancouver, BC. Have been beekeeping for 5 years with one hive. We want to venture into rearing our own queens on a more regular basis but are not quite there yet. Trying to find an advanced beekeeping course in the Metro Vancouver area...guess I will have to wait until next spring. If we proceed with queen rearing, are you interested in exchanging nucs?
    Loree

Hi Loree, I managed to raise 4 queens this year after disaster struck and we lost all of our queens and decided not to keep buying foreign queens. I am interested in your idea, but what do you think we would gain from exchanging nucs? Currently all of our queens are italian descendants from one mother this year who open bred with drones and are laying well now. The cool thing is that their children are a mix of italians and others I don't know what but there is no color, just black and white stripes. What part of Van are you in? We are in Kits.

I am in Vancouver and new this year to bee keeping.

For those that have kept bees for a while in Vancouver what are the flows, when do they happen?

When are the likely dearth periods if any?

When do you put away the hives for winter, w hen do you open them in the spring?

How do you manage your hives for winter...feeding, hive wraps etc.

Are hive beetles, wax moth etc a concern? How do you manage Varro and nosema?

Local knowledge would be so helpful.

Thanks