Hybrid View

Default Looking for work in So Cal

Hello,

I am currently looking for a beekeeping related job. I am 23 and have 3 years experience working in a pollination ecology lab, two years experience in beekeeping, and have both assisted commercial beekeepers in most aspects of their work, and have six of my own hives which I manage. I have also interned at Associates Insectary, an insectary and IPM workplace so I am familiar with pests, beneficials, and pesticides. I have some college under my belt, but haven't finished my degree at California State Channel Islands yet. I may be willing to relocate if the place and price is right. Depending on the cost of living I would like to be paid appropriately. Double the cost of rent is desirable, but I am open to any offers. I have some college experience in Biology with an Ecology and Entomology focus, but no degree yet.

Bryan Castro
    bryan.castro846@myci.csuci.edu

Default Re: Looking for work in So Cal

Can you lift heavy boxes all day in the heat, dressed in a full bee suit, while being stung by angry bees?

It depends on how heavy the lift is. I am 5"4 and 130 lbs so up to 1 Deep and 1 Med I can lift, but I struggle a bit more lifting 2 deeps+ onto the back of a pickup without a buddy. I have worked in Kern when it was about 110 degrees in a full bee suit studying African bees, so the heat isn't really a problem.

Quote Originally Posted by odfrank View Post
    Can you lift heavy boxes all day in the heat, dressed in a full bee suit, while being stung by angry bees?
    Can you?
    Regards, Barry

Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Can you?
    Definitely not.