Thread: split question

Default split question

This is my first year bee keeping and I only have 1 hive(bee watcher?) I keep reading about splits...My hive has 3 deeps. I just added the 3rd about 4 days ago. Do I need to split my hive? Should it be done in the spring? I have a goal of 4 hives next year with 1 being a split (assuming they survive the winter) and the others being purchased nucs. If I split now will it be harder for the bees to make it through winter?
    Thanks for any ideas , experience or opinions!
    Wendy

Default Re: split question

I don't have as much experience as a lot of others here, but I would say, it is getting pretty late to do splits. If you do decide to split them, be prepared to feed them plenty of sugar water.

I would really rather wait till spring but Im just unsure of when the best time is to do it.

unless you purchase a laying queen to give to your split i think it is pretty late in the season to expect them to make a new queen on their own and build up overwintering strength.

spring will be much better for the bees and will help with swarm prevention too.

keep them strong, get them through winter, and consider a 'cut down split' as described here:

http://www.bushfarms.com/beessplits.htm
    journaling the growth of a treatment free apiary started in 2010. 20+/- hives

In my opinion every beekeeper should always have a nuc in the works. If you need a queen pronto you have one. You can rob capped brood to boost other hives or let them grow into a full size colony. This will happen a lot faster than you might think.
    In MO. I have no qualms starting a nuc around the first of Aug and letting them raise their own queen.
    Some of the queens won't make it back from their mating flights. I give them 30 days and if there's no eggs I start over with a frame of eggs/ open brood and a frame of capped brood because the bees in the original nuc won't live until the new queen has hatching brood.