Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon USA
    Posts
    323

    Default Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    I caught a small swarm on Friday, maybe 1lb-1.5lbs of bees. I left them in the 5 frame nuc that I caught them in. I checked yesterday and they're already building comb on the foundationless frames and they're busy bringing in pollen. I haven't seen the queen yet, so I don't know for sure if I got her or not, but, the bees seem happy and they're very gentle.....Anyway, if I decide they're not big enough to make it on their own, how would I go about combining them? I have an empty KTBH that I just built that's ready to go, but if I put this small swarm in there, I'm worried I might catch a larger swarm in the next few weeks and I have no idea how you do a "combine" in a TBH unlike Langs where you do the sheet of newspaper trick.....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Hyattsville, MD
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    What about using newspaper and flat thumbtacks to hold it in place?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon USA
    Posts
    323

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    Quote Originally Posted by MacNachtan View Post
    What about using newspaper and flat thumbtacks to hold it in place?
    Now that's a pretty darned good idea......anyone think it would work?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Casey, Il, USA
    Posts
    1,183

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    How tight is your follower board mine is tight except the bottom with mine I would stuff grass on the bottom of the board and dump them in the other side make sure you don't dump a queen in

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon USA
    Posts
    323

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    Quote Originally Posted by Harley Craig View Post
    How tight is your follower board mine is tight except the bottom with mine I would stuff grass on the bottom of the board and dump them in the other side make sure you don't dump a queen in
    That's also a good idea! My follower boards are pretty tight, but, I could cut 3/8" off the bottom of one and save it and re-attach it with a nail or two after I'm done using it for a colony combine with grass stuffed in the gap at the bottom.

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Topeka, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    84

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    I've combined a queenless top bar colony with another using newspaper duct taped in place successfully. I just removed the tape and what was left of the newspaper about a week later.
    Matt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lakeland, FL USA
    Posts
    834

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    .

    Once I did a cut-out that got ugly ( no need to recount the details).

    Anyhow, I had a bunch of queenless workers that I had vacuumed up and just let them free next to an existing top bar hive.

    They integrated just fine. Here's a video of some of them filing in the hive:


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Casey, Il, USA
    Posts
    1,183

    Default Re: Can you combine colonies in a TBH?

    Quote Originally Posted by BigDawg View Post
    That's also a good idea! My follower boards are pretty tight, but, I could cut 3/8" off the bottom of one and save it and re-attach it with a nail or two after I'm done using it for a colony combine with grass stuffed in the gap at the bottom.

    Thanks!
    I leave the gap all the time so bees have access to the feeder on the back side

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads