Default question about Bacillus thuringiensis Thuricide

Hi all
    I have a wax moth in my area, so I bought Bacillus thuringiensis Thuricide according to advise i had read in
    a book about beekeeping. have anyone used it ? is it useful against wax moth and don't harm the bees?
    thank you.

Default Re: question about Bacillus thuringiensis Thuricide

> I bought Bacillus thuringiensis Thuricide

Bt comes in several different specific varieties. Thuricide appears to be a brand name for one manufacturer's product, using the variety
    Bacillus thuringiensis v. kurstaki.
    http://www.villacrop.co.za/products/...Villa_MSDS.pdf

The Bt variety that is known to work for wax moth control is Bacillus thuringiensis, v. aizawai.
    http://www.valent.com/Data/Labels/BI...ari%20MSDS.pdf

I am not an expert on Bt, but it would appear that Thuricide is not the right choice for beekeeping wax moth control.

More on the aizawai variety here:
    http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...Aizawai-Powder
    If you are interested in contacting Beesource member Sundance offering Bta, see the last page of the thread.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

I bought some Bt aizawai from Sundance some years ago & sprayed it on harvested supers that the bees had cleaned up. The first time I sprayed the supers and laid them out to dry near dusk there must have been dozens of moths of all shapes & sizes show up & walk all over those supers. I thought to myself that if this stuff is going to work after this exposure then I'm a believer. Never had a problem then or ever.

Quote Originally Posted by John D. View Post