Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Salisbury, MO
    Posts
    70

    Default Pretreat for mites

    When it comes to mites, do you pretreat or just treat if mites show up? I have not noticed any mites in my hive. If mites show up, how much time do you have to get the mite strips put in the hive?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    jackson county, alabama, usa
    Posts
    4,042

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    good question josh, and the answers to that are all over the place.

    i think it's fair to say that you won't 'notice' mites unless you are specifically looking for them.

    the easiest way to see some is to uncap and pull out a few drone larvae, the mites are the little reddish-brown dots.

    it is believed that most bee colonies have some mites.

    the discussion about when or if to take action, and what action to take (if any) receives a lot of attention here on the forum.

    here is a link to a site that would be a good place to learn about mites:

    http://scientificbeekeeping.com/

    click on 'varroa management' on the right hand side.

    there's a lot there, good luck.
    beekeeping since june 2010, +/- 20 hives, tf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Pepperell, MA.
    Posts
    3,671

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    I never chemically pre-treat. I only treat what I know to be a problem. As far as the timing goes, you should treat when you know you have a problem (doing drop counts help) and then treat following the instructions for your chosen method.
    "My wife always wanted girls. Just not thousands and thousands of them......"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    600

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    I don't do anything but add supers and deeps when needed. A strong hive will take care if itself.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Manning, SC
    Posts
    1,778

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBuzz View Post
    A strong hive will take care if itself.
    I've seen strong hives totally decimated by mites..........Maybe you have superior genetics and the "Luck of the Irish."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    600

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    Maybe cuz mine don't have mites currently but I saw some last year.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland, Bladen County, NC, USA
    Posts
    2,771

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBuzz View Post
    Maybe cuz mine don't have mites currently but I saw some last year.
    Oh.. you got mites. All hives have mites. You just can't see them. Have someone do a mite count for you.

    BTW... Big hives crash the hardest....
    “Don’t tell me how educated you are, tell me how much you have travelled.” - The Quran

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    jackson county, alabama, usa
    Posts
    4,042

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBuzz View Post
    I don't do anything but add supers and deeps when needed.
    that's all i did in year's one and two, year three was a little different.

    it's now year four and i'll be checking them.
    beekeeping since june 2010, +/- 20 hives, tf

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Manning, SC
    Posts
    1,778

    Default Re: Pretreat for mites

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBuzz View Post
    Maybe cuz mine don't have mites currently...
    Duh, that's why you need not treat..........A strong hive in of itself is no defense against mites..........

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads