Default dont pay to much for tbh

I was looking at tbh and was floored by the ridiculous prices they charge for them so i built my own wasnt hard and reused some scrap wood that would have ended up in a landfill total cost about $20

Default Re: dont pay to much for tbh

With enough scrap wood, you can get the price down to zero.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

The cost was for paint screws bolts hardware cloth and wood glue

I see people talking about $20-$40 TBHs, but it hasn't worked that way for me and I'm a carpenter with access to a lot of scrapwood......

I just finished my first one. I had a bunch of 1x12 laying around, but I needed to buy 1x6's that I ripped down for the top bars, 1/2 cove molding for the top bar cleats, various screws, hook and eyes, etc. I think for the next one I'll just rip 2x4's down for the top bars--should be much cheaper. I even had some corrugated fiberglass roofing panels laying around, but I'm guessing I still have and easy $40 in the materials and about 8 hours in labor.......but it was still fun!

I had a great time building it and I tried to do it on the cheap as much as possible because I do sustainable agriculture projects in Latin America and the S. Pacific and I'd like to try some of the TBHs in those communities.

BD

Which part of S. Pacific BigDawg?
    44 years, been commercial, outfits up to 4000 hives, now 120 hives and 200 nucs as a hobby, selling bees. T (mostly).

>The cost was for paint screws bolts hardware cloth and wood glue

I'm not saying that's a bad plan to buy those, but you can scrounge used nails all day long quite easily and screws. There is no need for the paint (although a spouse could change that...) and no need for hardware cloth. You COULD do it for free if you really want to...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF