Default Order a new queen...or just kill current one?

(To save time in explaining, just assume I'm making the right decision, and I need to requeen...hive is 13 months in my presence and has struggled the entire time)...

SO, I've never re-queened, but I'm debating on ordering one now. Good friend tells me to just remove the existing queen, take her far away and kill her, and let the hive replace her naturally.

I'm not too worried about the lag time in queen production, because even if I put a new queen in today, the numbers in this hive are so low, I would not see any honey to rob until next year anyways...

What other things should I consider though in making this decision? I'm still new to this...but wouldn't raising a queen from the same stock just give me a similar queen, or not?

I appreciate your opinions!
    One-Arm-BeeMan

Default Re: Order a new queen...or just kill current one?

The time lag of no queen is the biggest issue (unless you don't like the genetics of the current queen). You can let them raise a new queen, but it is preferable to either time this with the flow (ideal being two weeks before the flow) or do it seamlessly, by putting an excluder between two brood boxes and wait until the new queen is laying and then do a combine.

If you do order a new one, I would never kill the old queen until the new queen is laying. A lot can go wrong between ordering a queen and her laying... she may not even get shipped, or she could get lost in the mail, die, not get accepted...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF