Exclamation Advice on if my queen is still present.

Hello everyone,
    This is my first year as a beekeeper and so far I love it. However, I am having trouble determining if my queen is present or not and was hoping someone could help me out.

Ok, I hived my bees a little over 3 weeks ago. However, due to my inexperience and excitement when preparing the queen cage I wasn't sure which end to remove the cork from and I removed it from the wrong end. I quickly realized my mistake and pluged the hole with a piece of marshmellow and placed it into the hive. After 3 days I checked and she had been released. (Three days was much sooner than I wanted but due to an unusual cold front that came threw the area I was afraid if I didn't remove it then it my be two weeks before I could check up on them. And I was afraid they may make a mess of things inside the hive with the cage present.)

So I inspected the hive today and they have built up quite a bit of comb ( about two frames) but very little is drawn up to full hight. I do see bees with pollen on there legs and comb with pollen stored. I also seen that many of the cells have water or the sugar water that I am feeding them in the cells (couldnt tell which it was). The bees seem very dosile and I seen a couple of cells capped off. However, I looked and looked and couldn't see any eggs or the queen. So now I am nervous.

Between the marshmellow, the cold weather, and only waiting three days to remove the queen cage I am afraid something has happened to the queen. So with all of that said I was hoping some of you might have some opinions or suggestions.

I was also wondering... Does the queen lay eggs in every cell? Should I bee looking in the cells that have the water or sugar water, honey, and the once with the pollen? Also, I thought about Ordering a new queen but what if my queen is in there and I'm just too "green" to know it. Help!!!

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Advice on if my queen is still present.