Default Bridge comb and brood loss

hi, total newb again. i started working my first hive a week ago -- a top-bar nuc installed in a langstroth bottom deep.

When i installed the top bars from the nuc last week, two top bars were fused together via bridge comb. I didn't spend any time focusing on the bridge comb "problem" but rather installed the fused frames in the deep as one.

Yesterday I did my first inspection of the newly-installed nuc. When I came to the two top-bars fused by bridge comb, genius me decided to try to separate so that I could work the frames individually. I used a serrated knife to cut between the two frames so that they were no longer connected. I was horrified to see that there was beautiful brood maturing in the bridge comb, and I had just annihilated a bunch of future honeybees. Mortifying.

Several questions:

1) Is this type of bridge comb situation common with top bars?
    2) Is it normal for brood to develop and mature in bridge comb?
    3) How can I prevent this in the future while I've got the nuc top bars in place (i plan to swap out top bars to all langstroth frames over time)
    4) Have I done irreparable harm to the hive by killing nearly 1/2 the brood on one frame of an eight-frame deep?

any thoughts appreciated. Thanks.

Default Re: Bridge comb and brood loss

Quote Originally Posted by bjwisbar View Post
    1) Is this type of bridge comb situation common with top bars?
    Not necessarily a "top bars" thing nearly so much as a "honey bees" thing. I've heard TBH and Lang keepers both lamenting this trouble on a regular basis...it just happens, or as someone else put it "bees do as bees do."

2) Is it normal for brood to develop and mature in bridge comb?
    Happens all the time; the bees don't see bridge comb, burr comb, or brace comb as anything different than "good" comb...the difference only matters to us, as beekeepers...bees build it & use it for whatever they need at the time.