Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Entrance reducer

3K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  bbuck2003 
#1 ·
We just installed our New package of bees on 5-3-13, it is 5-6-13 now and the bees seem to be really road blocked with the entrance reducer in, when we check for the queen on 5-8-13, would it be too soon to switch that reducer to the wider setting? Thank you

#2 ·
i have three hives started this year from 5-frame nucs. two of them are on the small setting and one of them i went to the alrger setting on day 3 as they seemed to be pretty congested at the entrance. i don't think there are any hard rules about when to switch them. just go with what you think and I'm sure it will be okay. This is my first year with bees as well, so keep that in mind when reading my advice :)

#3 ·
If your bees are getting congested in the entrance, then you should have enough to guard it at the next larger setting.

Also, one thing you can do for an "experiment"...set out a tin pie-pan (the disposable kind) with some gravel in it, and pour in some sugar syrup. Set the pie pan at least 100' or more away from your hives, then check on it an hour or so later. If the pie pan's covered in bees, then you don't have much nectar flow, and I'd be concerned about opening up entrances too early; if the pie pan's full of ants, but very few bees, then there's a good nectar flow on & robbing shouldn't be too much of a concern anywise :D

#6 ·
Since the temperature seems to dip down to near freezing every week or so this Spring, I've left mine on longer than normal. I'll pull them this week as we aren't supposed to have any really cold nights for at least a while -- congestion doesn't bother me (or the bees) as much as an icy cold draft does.

Peter

#7 ·