Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Finding the queen

3K views 10 replies 11 participants last post by  millerdrr 
#1 ·
I have been through my hives several times now and I have yet to see the queen. For a general inspection if I see eggs I am fine. Lately I have been making some queens. I would rather take a frame from a hive where I knew where the queen is located. I have been grabbing a frame and trying to look for the queen to be sure I am not moving her. As I am not good at finding the queen, verifying she is not on the frame seems a little prone to failure.

How does everybody else find the queen in a hive that has several boxes. Do you look for a big bee? My hives are loaded with drones. Is she usually found near the eggs?

#2 ·
I'm really new, so take my advice with a grain of salt, but I found that simply looking at pictures of queens helped me tremendously. I look for a longer bee. I also watch the other bees to see how they act. If they're near the queen, they simply quit what they're doing and focus on her. My queen is marked and that helps as well. I just googled queen bee pictures and studied them. To me, a drone is a bit harder to spot because the size isn't that much different, but the queen will be twice as big as the workers.
My 8 year old boy can spot her without even trying....I don't know why. He's handy to have around when I'm doing inspections and such and he likes fooling with them.

GH

GH

#3 ·
> As I am not good at finding the queen, verifying she is not on the frame seems a little prone to failure.

You don't really need to find the queen, you simply need to know that she is not on the frames you are removing. You can select the frames, brush all the bees off those frames, then put those frames in a new box, above a queen excluder, but on the original hive. Come back in an hour or so, and you will have brood frames with nurse bees, and be confident the queen is not on those frames. :D

#4 ·
Patience!