Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, OR
    Posts
    38

    Default What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    My first swarm I used a couple cardboard boxes because that is what I had on hand. Used a medium sized box to shake the bees into and then placed that box inside a larger box for transport. Figured that in case some bees got out of the inner box I would still have the larger one to keep them from buzzing around in my jeep.

    Now I am taking a spare deep and am thinking of screwing a piece of plywood to the bottom of it. Would put in a few frames and make a lid with latches on the side to hold it shut during transport. Will drill some tiny holes in the lid for ventilation.

    This sound like a plan? What do you guys use?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Park City Ky
    Posts
    1,903

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    I use a regular 10 frame deep with the bottom board stapled to it, and the entrance screened off. I use a migratory top with a 2 3/4 inch hole covered with screen wire.

    I place three drawn brood combs against one side, then two frames of foundation. This leaves the space where five more frames should be.

    Use a ratchet strap to hold until I move them.

    After moving, I remove the screen from the front and remove the screen from the top and place a 1/2 gallon jar filled with sugar syrup. Feed them about one gallon sugar syrup, then discontinue feeding.

    Leave them alone for at least one week. Then check just to see if queen is laying. Add the additional five frames at this time.

    cchoganjr

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Forsyth, Missouri
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    I have cardboard nuc's with frames -straps- screen -duct tap -vale & gloves in all of the car's, & one nuc and a full deep in the truck + straps- screen -duct tap -vale & gloves.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Grayson, KY
    Posts
    286

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    Plastic tote like what you store cloths in.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    fairfield,ohio
    Posts
    674

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    I run all mediums, I put them in the box they will live in. If they are in a spot I can't shake them in, I use a robo style vac and suck them into the box they will live in. Either case saves from transfering bees. Cleo, Do you run migratory lids, if so how do you like them?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Park City Ky
    Posts
    1,903

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    Yes, I run migratory lids with the hole for feeding, using a mason jar. (quart, half gallon or gallon jars) When Winter comes I put a piece of screen over the hole, then put a telescoping cover on. If I get a few warm days in February, I can remove the telescoping cover, remove the screen, and feed without breaking the seal on the hives. If it turns cold again, just put the telescoping cover back on until the next warm day.


    Several years ago I made a half dozen swarm catcher boxes (everybody wanted one), that are very light for use when a normal 10 frame box with frames is too heavy. It has a sliding top made with Masonite Board and screen on one side. It is very light. I can shake or brush the bees in the box, then slide the slide and a bolt goes through the handle to keep the slide from opening during travel. I still use them occasionally, especially if the swarm is high in a tree or some other object. I will try to get a photo or two today and post.

    cchoganjr

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    fairfield,ohio
    Posts
    674

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    Thanks Cleo, I have wondered about winter with them. I do like the idea of being able to scoot the boxes close together for warmth. Sorry guys didn't mean to get off the subject of the post. Lot of good info here on swarm retrieval.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,953

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    For drop in clusters I use a large screened chlorine bucket or screened five gallon bucket, for a tangled swarm I use a Bushkill vac. Anything to avoid the return evening pickup. The Bushkill vac avoids loss of control over the bees both at the pickup and delivery ends. They are under my control as I vac them into the screened vac, and they are already boxed when I lift them off the vac, never left to fly into the air.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Park City Ky
    Posts
    1,903

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    Here is a photo of one of the swarm catcher boxs that I made several years ago. I made several and gave to friends. I normally use a regular 10 frame deep with 2 or 3 drawn combs, and two frames of foundation if I can. If the bees are high or just not able to use a regular box, I use this catcher. It is light and has a slide made from masonite. One person can operate it easily. Shake or brush the bees into the box, then slide the slide, place a bolt through the handle so the slide cannot come loose during travel.

    When I get them home, I place the catcher on the stand, with the slide facing up, screen down. I place a bottom board that has no bottom (just sides and landing board), then place a deep that has drawn comb and foundation on top, then a migratory feeder top. Then pull the slide, bees will move up to the comb. Couple of days later, lift the deep and pull the catcher box and bottomless bottom board out and slide a regular bottom board under the deep.

    Swarm Catcher Box.jpg

    cchoganjr

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    4,163

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    Keep a nuc box in the car all summer. Its nice because you can let them sit a couple weeks without disturbing them.
    Dan

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Park City Ky
    Posts
    1,903

    Default Re: What do you use for a swarm capture/transport box?

    KQ6AR.... The only reason I do not use nucs for catching swarms, is, nucs are quite often too small for a decent size swarm and the bees may abscond after being in the nuc for a day or so. Swarms with 4-10 pounds of bees is common, and, a nuc just isn't large enough for them to stay in that small an area.

    I don't like to disturbe a swarm for a few days after placing it on a stand, so, I start with a 10 framer so they will know they have lots of room

    If you put a big swarm in a nuc you will need to move it into something larger, or, put a second nuc chamber on the nuc box fairly soon after placing them on your stand.

    cchoganjr

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads