Hybrid View

Default A question about gardening with bees

I am extremely new to beekeeping. I just got my garden planted, and I also just inherited an established hive. I have read that all pesticides are a no-no, so how do I keep the bugs from devouring my garden? Are there any acceptable chemicals? Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: A question about gardening with bees

Your pesticide free garden will bring in beneficial bugs who will keep the 'bad' bugs in check. Not as well as spraying the life off everything, but you can feel a lot better about supporting a healthy environment. You can do other things with your veggies too, if you have them, like rolled up newspaper to collect bugs in the morning, or covers. I watch the tiny little birds come in and pick the aphids off my roses every season and no longer spray. But I also prune early, prune aggressively if I see leaf mold starting. Remember, organic also means 'real' compost and soil.. I use my table scraps and have a compost bin to make it. It all works together and there are tons of information on the net you can search for.

I do use snail bait, the kind that is not toxic to animals, but that is basically it. My garden is fabulous and full of life. I have all veggies, berries, citris, apples and lots and lots of flowers. And at this point 9 hives but some are nucs I'll be selling off in a few weeks. Good luck to you!

Thanks CB, I'm starting to research organic methods. It will be different from what I'm used to, but I love a challenge!