Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Stillwell, KS
    Posts
    548

    Default Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    I normally start swarms on foundationless frames with just one drawn frame of comb in the middle of the box to act as a guide. Seldom lose a swarm.

    This year (because of ppb) I have an abundace of drawn boxes of comb that I need to get occupied with bees to help protect asap.

    Anybody have experience installing swarms on fully drawn comb?

    Acceptance? Any other issues?


    Thanks,

    Don

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Auckland,Auckland,New Zealand
    Posts
    5,424

    Default Re: Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    Long as the combs are clean, no worries.
    44 years, been commercial, outfits up to 4000 hives, now 120 hives and 200 nucs as a hobby, selling bees. T (mostly).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Suffolk, VA
    Posts
    2,277

    Default Re: Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    I'll bite, what's ppb?

    I agree with OT. Feel free to use them if they are disease-free. However, nothing draws comb better than a big, well-fed swarm. This is a once per year event where you can easily get new comb built. This is leveraging your bees natural tendencies. I can always find other uses for drawn comb, so using it in a swarm would be very low priority for me. That's why I typically only give a swarm one frame of drawn comb. Use them to draw comb, if that's an objective.
    Horseshoe Point Honey -- http://localvahoney.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    100

    Default Re: Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    Quote Originally Posted by AstroBee View Post
    I'll bite, what's ppb?
    piss-poor beekeeping

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Spanish Fork, UT, USA
    Posts
    337

    Default Re: Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    I normally use drawn comb. The hive will build up faster than if they they were trying to build all new comb.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Pueblo, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    603

    Default Re: Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    Every swarm I've ever caught and put into a nuc that had a frame of drawn comb in it never absconded. Bees take to it really well.
    Zone 5a @ 4700 ft. High Desert
    Facebook

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    43,453

    Default Re: Installing swarms on drawn foundation

    >Anybody have experience installing swarms on fully drawn comb?

    I always do if I have it. Drawn comb belongs in hives with bees. No point not using it and having the wax moths move in later...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads