Hybrid View

Default Capped Queen Cells One Week After Installing Nuc

I am new to beekeeping and installed my first nuc last weekend. I have been concerned about mites so I opened the hive up this morning for the first proper inspection.

The Good:
    I saw eggs, larvae, and capped brood
    I saw lots of bees; certainly more than I installed
    I saw comb being drawn out on the new frames/foundation

The Bad:
    I did not see my marked queen (which I did see during the installation)
    I saw 2 capped queen cells

I'm not really sure how to proceed. Do I reenter the hive, find the marked queen, and destroy the capped queen cells? If I absolutely cannot find the marked queen, I suppose I'll contact the nuc supplier about getting another queen. Any advice for a beginner?

Thanks.

Default Re: Capped Queen Cells One Week After Installing Nuc

Unfortunately, many nucs are now being sold with "package queens" meaning that the queen & the bees/brood *may* have come from different hives. Sometimes you'll end up with a "dud" queen that the girls will decide to quickly supercede, just like with a package, or even a "bought" queen. If it were my hive, I'd consider the 2 queen cells to be 1 replacement queen for the marked one, and let the bees handle the bees' business while I laid back & dreamt of MY business (you know, stealing all their hard-won honey later)