Hybrid View

Default European Foulbrood: Your experience with Tylan?

It appears that the general consensus on Beesource is "Tylan doesn't work on European Foulbrood." Some beekeepers still recommend Tylan, though, and say that some strains of EFB are resistant to Terramycin. The only way to observe what's actually true is to listen to beekeepers who have seen for themselves which treatment cures EFB.

I'd like to keep this particular conversation about "treating with antibiotics", and not talk about "the shake-down method" or, "natural selection - letting them die". I'm a bee inspector (yeah, I know you love bee inspectors), and I see plenty of European Foulbrood. I want to stay up-to-date on my suggestions for treatments, so I'm trying to figure out which treatments are the most effective for saving hobby/sideliner hives and eventually eliminating EFB from the infected apiary.

Its sad to see someone lose a whole apiary of bees to EFB. It can be really serious. The more I read, and the more presentations I go to, the more questions I have. Lately, I'll read from a source that I thought was the gospel, and find myself thinking "well, that can't actually be true anymore..."

Default Re: European Foulbrood: Your experience with Tylan?

Streptomycin is much more effective on EFB than Terramycin or Tylan, but it's not approved.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

I did see that you've said that before...

I lost my only hive last spring to EFB and wax moths in spite of treating with Terramycin. Can't tell you if the Terramycin was not effective or the hive was too far gone to save, my rookie mistake of not feeding it up in the fall probably doomed it anyway.

I suspect the EFB was present in the fall, too and I didn't notice it in time as well -- steep learning curve.

Peter