Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Golden Mean Full?

Hello Everybody!
    I live in Hawaii. I bought a Golden Mean from Backyard Hives last summer. It's been doing great so far. Maybe a little too great. The girls are hanging out on the entrance side of the hive day and night. They actually are bearding at night. I've taken 5 bars of capped honey since last June. Am I going to see a swarm here in the near future. I'm new to this beekeeping stuff but enjoy it a lot. On my visits the hive seems crowded. Is there anything I should do? Also, how do you post pics?? Not really user friendly here..Thanks!

Default Re: Golden Mean Full?

Hi, Lasergyro!

No experience here yet, getting our first package of bees for our first top bar hive from Beethinking.com next Friday. But based on all the reading, watching videos, and class I'm in it sounds like your hive does not have enough ventilation for the bees to be able to cool it enough. It's my understanding that bearding is caused by too-high temperatures inside the hive. What are the temperatures during the day and night in your location?

If they are getting ready to swarm there will be other indications, such as "swarm cells." You should see queen cells, and a larger percentage of drone cells if I recall correctly. You should also make sure that your brood area is not "honey bound", that there are empty bars available for them to build additional brood comb in the brood nest area.

If I'm way off base I'm sure that others will chime in here and let us know, but do some research on hive ventilation and swarming for more information.

Cheers,
    Tom

You could do some splits. Do you have another hive or small top bar nuc handy?

From Michael Bush's site:

How to do Splits

Here's an excellent video of Sam Comfort doing splits with his top bar hives up in New York State. He has plenty of queens handy, but they can be done just as well (but not as quickly) with brood/eggs and queen cells.