Default Feeding in spring?

Do I need to feed my bees this time of year? This is an established hive, but I'm new to bee keeping.

Thanks

Default Re: Feeding in spring?

If your bees still have some stores there's no need to feed.
    BeeCurious
    Trying to think inside the box...

Are you treating for Nosema? Feed one gallon per hive with Fumigilin in the Spring. I also put a cap full of Honey-B-Healthy.

Not treating for anything.

Mayday- How much fumigilin do you mix with your gallon of feed? juzzer

depends on your goal and how well your watching the hive. I feed the heck out of them until I am ready to super. I want a huge full hive BEFORE the honey flow really starts... but you also have to be on top swarms...... As for the food in the hive... its not much help for buildup.... the look for nectar. If I set 1-1 and honey side by side, they take the 1-1 first always...

Quote Originally Posted by juzzerbee View Post
    Mayday- How much fumigilin do you mix with your gallon of feed? juzzer
    1/2 Tbsp Fumigilin per 1 gallon. **Mix the Fumigilin in a small separate container with cold water, then add to sugar water after it has cooled off. If you add the Fumigilin directly into the gallon while still hot, it will clump and never mix properly.

Feeding your bees syrup in the Spring will also stimulate your Queen to ramp up her egg production. Temperature will dictate if you use a 1:1 or 2:1 mix.

I put quart jars of 1:1 on my hives yesterday. I know that they did not store much honey last fall because of the drought.
    I've had two of my twelve hives starve already this spring. Last fall I put 12 -15 pounda of damp granular sugar (to make a brick) on each hive - yesteday most of the hives still had 3 to 4 pounds of sugar. But two were dead in the cells even with the sugar block.

I think that he bees need 1:1 (like nector) this time of year.
    Charlie

All "should I feed" questions have one answer.

Are they hungry?

The same goes for "should I treat"