Default I'm new to beekeeping and I just hived my bees.

So the first thing that strikes me as strange during the day bees are all over the front of the box. It isn't quite thick enough to be a "bee beard" but it just looks like the hive is over heating but, its really not that hot, hottest its been so far is maybe 75. Should my inner cover have a small slot cut in the outside edge like an entrance? Secondly, I opened the hive up on day 3 to make sure the queen was released and I'm already getting those peanut cells, is that maybe where I had a frame out for the queen box, maybe burr comb? i dunno ... please help me understand whats going on with my bees. set up right now is screened bottom board, tape over inner cover hole, hive top feeder, and 1 deep hive body.

Default Re: I'm new to beekeeping and I just hived my bees.

Were you able to find your queen when you opened the hive up?
    Don't provoke a hive full of angry bees.

no, a local bee KNOW IT ALL that i just found out gave me a lot more incorrent information than this told me not to worry about locating her just see if she was out.

Could you see eggs? I'm still a fairly new beek, myself (< 1 year), but I would think if you can see single eggs in the cells, that means she got out and started laying. The peanut cells make me think that something happened to make the bees decide they needed a new queen (if you are, in fact, seeing supersedure cells). Do you have pictures, by chance?

Beekeeping is like anything else: there is a wide range of opinions, thoughts, and ideas. I had a fairly experienced beek give me some guidance on wintering my hive that the bee man at the local university extension told me would probably kill it (and I think he was right).
    Don't provoke a hive full of angry bees.

Ill start taking pictures