Default Hive swarmed but got the bees, questions

I was asking yesterday advice about this hive and this a.m. I went to split it but it was to late. The bees did it themselves. I am a novice at this and still learning everyday something about bees. They didn't go far (very lucky), when I got there this a.m. around 10 they had just swarmed, 2 swarms in a cedar just in front of the hives and bees flying everywhere. I let them calm down for about an hour and they settled in 2 large clusters on limbs just above each other. I have containers that have the sides cut out and screen wire for ventilation for the bee vac so I went and got 2 of them, climbed a ladder, cut the limb and toated each limb down and put in the boxes. I wasn't able to hive them this afternoon due to work so I brought them home and put them in my garage where it is cool. Bees are fine, clustered in a corner in each box, acting fine. So now I have a few more questions.

1. These 2 sets of bees were in seperate balls, not touching. So was this 2 swarms. Remember I said in my last post that I had 3-4 queen cells that had holes in the bottom but wasn't sure if it hatched a queen or not.
    2. If seperate swarms, are they likely to be 1 mated queen (old queen) and 1 virgin.
    3. When I hive these put some brood and rest frames in hive body and start feeding heavy to start laying if one of the queens is a mated one.
    4. Do these swarms need to go to another hive yard?

Thanks,

Clark
    Swarm 4-6-13 (1).jpg
    swarm on 4-6-13.jpg
    Last edited by CChampion; 04-07-2013 at 12:26 AM.

Default Re: Hive swarmed but got the bees, questions

If you have two queens, one is the old one and one is a virgin, unless two hives swarmed, in which case both are the old queen.