Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Bee Whisperer

5K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  wvbeeguy 
#1 ·
Hello everyone. I have only two years of experience in the bee world, so I need input. Question: Last fall I caught two small swarms in one general area. I was told, by an experienced bee person, to go ahead an just combine the swarms into one hive, and they would "take care of themselves." Fighting between the bees started imediately. Within three days, half of the bees were dead; including both queens. Needless to say, I could not get a queen and the bees lasted about six weeks before dying. Did I do something wrong, or was I misinformed?

#4 ·
Welcome to Beesource!

It is possible to combine swarms or other bee colonies, but the general concept is to remove one of the queens, then allow the queenless bees to be queenless for a few days before meeting their new queen.

One technique for doing this is called a "newspaper combine". Here's a thread on the subject:
http://www.beesource.com/forums/showthread.php?233646-newspaper-combine-details

#7 ·
it was predictable that the two swarms and their queens would fight. like rader said, it would have been alright if you would have killed one of the queens first. the newspaper method lets the two groups of bees get used to each other.

sounds like you are on the right track be reading up on it all you can, and you are right, lots of different opinions out there. :)

i am starting my fourth season, still just a beginner.

this is a good place to ask questions, you might want to see if there are any bee clubs near you.

good luck with your new colonies!

#8 ·
I don't have personal experience combining hives - I prefer to split them! :lookout:

But the concept of combining two small swarms is not the problem, it likely the problem was the manner in which you did the combine. Its possible the other guy assumed you already knew how to do a combine, but its also possible he could have been misinformed himself.