Results 1 to 15 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Waller County, TX, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    So, I got some vintage train transformers, all are putting out 18V or more. I wired my frames and then tried to use them to embed the wire.

    No luck. The wire doesnt even get warm. I left them clipped on there for 5 minutes. No dice. How are you guys using train transformers to embed wire? There is current passing through the wire, but its not enough to warm it up. Ended up just using a spur embedder for the first one.

    Kind of disappointed because I read that these would work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Rader, Greene County, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    6,588

    Default Re: Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    Whats the amp output rating on the terminals you are trying to use?

    And second, after you have hooked up the wire you are trying to heat, what is the voltage measurement between the two terminals that you are using?

    .
    Last edited by Rader Sidetrack; 03-10-2013 at 06:48 PM.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mammoth Cave, KY
    Posts
    149

    Default Re: Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    I insert each wire from the transformer into the brass eyelets on opposite ends takes 2 seconds or less per wire.
    Poppy's Bees, Queens, and Honey
    Mammoth Cave, KY

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Alachua County, FL, USA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default Re: Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    I used a train transformer for years. It would be better to make direct contact with the wire. There is resistance between the eyelets and wire. It will not make your wires last long with the induced galvanic corrosion either.
    Are you heating just one segment or the entire strand? The shorter the wire the greater the current and heat. E=IR.
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Waller County, TX, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    Ill have to measure the voltage again. I made an embedding tool, between the two end contacts, its a solid 18V. The transformer is a 17.5V, 6VA transformer, on the AC side. It takes about 15 second to really head it up and get it embedded. I am heating one segment at a time. The tool is the functional equivalent of what you buy from Dadant.

    Between the wires, when its hooked up, I can only get .7V across it. Its standard wire, standard train transformer, and a medium frame. Not sure how it could be any different that what you guys are using. Ive tried it with several train transformers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Rader, Greene County, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    6,588

    Default Re: Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    > It takes about 15 second to really head it up and get it embedded.

    In post #1 you said it didn't work at all, so I assume that problem has been resolved, and now the issue is that it takes 15 seconds per wire?

    >
    6VA transformer

    The Dadant transformer said it was 2 amps. 2 amps at 12 volts is 24VA, so I'm not surprised your current process is slower. Make sure you are not using "thin" wire from the transformer to your tool, as you want as low a loss as possible there. If you want faster cycle time you will need to supply more amps.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    4,995

    Default Re: Train Transformer not enough for embedding?

    A 24V sprinkler controller transformer heats wires in 1/2 a second. Call local landscapers who might have old ones laying around.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads