Hybrid View

Default Is there a downside to EZ-Frames?

You know, the all-plastic frames with wax-coated plastic foundation. Is there a good reason to avoid them, or to prefer them over assembling my own traditional wood frames?

Yes I'm a noob, looking to place an order for my first hives. Any opinions welcome. Thanks!

Default Re: Is there a downside to EZ-Frames?

I don't know anything about ez frames having never held one. I do use a lot of mann lake pf xxx frames for deeps and mediums. I get excellent service out of them. I find the bees don't deal with them noticably treat them different from wax foundation. The sure fire way to get a perfect frame of any kind is to place them between two frames of capped brood in the middle of the nest. Other than that, draw them as a full box at a time after the bees are working on the outside frames of the box below. . Place one frame of brood or capped honey frame in the middle to pull the bees up into that box. Opinions vary, but that is my experieince

The only thing I do not like about the 1 piece plastic frames is the hiding spots all around the edges for small hive beetles. I used to use all 1 piece frames but since small hive beetles are overwintering so well here now I have switched to wood frame and plastic foundation.