Thread: Honey vs. sugar

Default Honey vs. sugar

I was wondering if it is okay to use honey in my syrup mixture and if so, what is the ration of honey to water. I have made the sugar syrup before and I have about 6 gallons of honey that has turned a little dark and I was thinking of using it and mixing it with some essential oils to feed here in the spring. Also if I understand it correctly from what I have read, the honey will act as an emulsifier to mix the essential oils with instead of using lecithin granules. I am new to this and any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

Default Re: Honey vs. sugar

Quote Originally Posted by Luv2beekeep View Post
    I was wondering if it is okay to use honey in my syrup mixture and if so, what is the ration of honey to water. I have made the sugar syrup before and I have about 6 gallons of honey that has turned a little dark and I was thinking of using it and mixing it with some essential oils to feed here in the spring. Also if I understand it correctly from what I have read, the honey will act as an emulsifier to mix the essential oils with instead of using lecithin granules. I am new to this and any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.
    A little honey (1-2 Tbl to 1 Gal): As I understand, bees take feed placed on top of the hive if they can 'smell?' it. I've been told they don't have a dance to describe locations less than 10' away from the hive.

More honey (1/4 - 1 cup to 1 Gal): Honey will change the pH of sugar and start inversion (corrections welcomed).

A lot of honey (More than 1 Cup to 1 Gal): If you add too much honey it could encourage robbing, especially of a weak hive.

Why use honey AND oils? I've heard some do to retard spoiling.