Default side entrance or end entrance?

I'm a newbie with my first hive and it's a TTBH. I put three 1/2 inch holes(instead of one larger one) on the front of my hive towards the side and a fellow beek was telling me that I should put the entrance on the side of the hive in the middle, so the bees can fan with the entrance in-line with the comb instead of across the comb. The beek told be that the bees won't be able to fan properly with the holes on the end of the hive. He also said that it is more natural for the bees to start in the middle and work outwards. What's everyone's thoughts on the subject?

Default Re: side entrance or end entrance?

To me, it seems most "natural" for the bees to use whatever space and entrances that nature provides for them.
    48 years - 50 hives - TF
    Joseph Clemens -- Website Under Constructioni

Bees are experts at setting up their own ventilation system. They will adapt.

My TBH hives have the entrance at one end. I simply place the first bar 3/8" back from the front edge. I modeled it after Michael Bush's design.
    http://www.bushfarms.com/beestopbarhives.htm

My bees did fine this past summer.
    Graham
    USDA Zone 7A Elevation 1400 ft

My long hive has its entrance at one end and has done just fine this summer with LOTS of very hot weather.
    Cheers
    Rob

I have 5 ktbh's and all of them have end entrances.

Adam

My hive originally had the entrance in the middle of the side at the bottom, which worked fine until I needed to expand and then they didn't like it when I tried to move the brood nest away from the entrance hole. (They let the brood hatch out of the comb farther away from the entrance and abandoned that comb.) I ended up putting new entrances on the South facing side near the hive end at the top. The bees were much happier with that arrangement and I never had a problem with bearding or ventilation even on 100+ degree days with the bottom board on.