Default Uk beekeeper/ designing beekeeping equipment

Hi guys/girls

My names Lee and Im approaching the end of my first year of beekeeping out on the outskirts of Sheffield in the UK. Been a tough year with the weather and weak colony I bought second hand but things are on the up!

Im also a design student, concentrating on the redesign of some of the beekeeping equipment used by commercial/sideliners as graduation project which prompted me to keep bees in the first place.

Is there any commercial/sideliners out there that could help me out with some research with few photos?

Much appreciated!

Default Re: Uk beekeeper/ designing beekeeping equipment

Welcome to Beesource!

Welcome and good luck with the project.

Welcome Lee!
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

Quote Originally Posted by lgrieve91 View Post

Im also a design student

First welcome!

Not sure what a design student equivalent is in the US. Are you an engineering student? You'd need some mechanical skill to tackle most equipment redesigns. Here's a suggestion, check out this product: http://www.brushymountainbeefarm.com...oductinfo/795/

It seems like a pretty simple device, but there have been very mixed reviews. Overall I think its massively overpriced. Your task is to redesign this to be more robust (no jamming, minimal double runs, and can accommodate all frame types), and all this with a retail price not to exceed $400 USD. It appears like a great concept that they just didn't get right, both pricing and functionality. I'll gladly volunteer to be your product tester.
    Horseshoe Point Honey -- http://localvahoney.com/

Astrobee,

I study product design, so theres a sense of engineering in there but also concentrates on how things look and are used.