Thumbs down Back to square 1

Every time I think I'm getting a handle on this, I discover how wrong I am.

This time, can someone tell me which strains are hybrids and which ones breed true? Do any strains still breed true?

I've been looking at VSH, Pol-line, Buckfast, Carnies, Italian. Am I missing anybody I should be looking at? I really would like to OCCASIONALLY breed a few queens with some chance of not loosing every good characteristic in the strain. I am just a small-time hobbyist with no thoughts of expanding into sidelining or full-fledged full-time. I'm retired and this was supposed to be the return to a FUN hobby, but I am starting to feel like Billy Crystal yelling, "I'm on vacation!" as he gets dragged by the steer in City Slickers!

Thanks!

Rusty
    Rusty Hills Farm -- home of AQHA A Rusty Zipper & Rusty's Bees ( LC and T)

Default Re: Back to square 1

If you open mate your queens they will be bred by all kinds of different drones. You will not know what they are.

If your package requeens it's self which happens most of the time, or your hive swarms you will have a virgin queen that will leave for mating flights.

I and many others prefer the feral survivors over the commercial bees. Would much rather have an open mated queen.

And I also believe the future of beek is in the feral survivors.

Quote Originally Posted by Rusty Hills Farm View Post
    I'm retired and this was supposed to be the return to a FUN hobby, but I am starting to feel like Billy Crystal yelling, "I'm on vacation!" as he gets dragged by the steer in City Slickers!
    Ha ha ha!