Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default What must I do or not do?

Hi All,

I am new to beekeeping, and wanting to start keeping bees! If I start with package bees, purchase from Walter T. Kelley, and wanting to go the treatment free route, what must I do or not do?

Surely these bees will be coming from a bee yard that treat! What will be my success rate of keeping them healthy and alive?

Thank you for your help and looking forward for your reply!

Thai

Default Re: What must I do or not do?

Quote Originally Posted by InTheBeginningGod View Post
    Hi All,

I am new to beekeeping, and wanting to start keeping bees! If I start with package bees, purchase from Walter T. Kelley, and wanting to go the treatment free route, what must I do or not do?

Surely these bees will be coming from a bee yard that treat! What will be my success rate of keeping them healthy and alive?

Thai

Wow.

Not sure if the whole of the internet contains the storage space needed to hold all the answers you seek new beek.

The answer is long, complicated, and varies from day to day in the beekeeping world.

First thing you need to do is make sure your vision of success is in tune with the realities of beekeeping today. If you can do that you will be on the right track for your first step.

Secondly, Read here and elsewhere voraciously. Cross check the advice, apply, and revise. Repeat as needed.

I suggest that you start with more than one package.
    Graham
    --- Victor Hugo - "Common sense is in spite of, not the result of, education.

Quote Originally Posted by Rader Sidetrack View Post
    I suggest that you start with more than one package.
    +1 on the above response. You could also consider one package and maybe one nuc. Also, consider joining a club and/or finding a mentor.

1) start with more than one hive, three would increase your chances of success greatly.