Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
    Posts
    874

    Default Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Can anyone who uses mono to wire foundationless frames with tell me what they use.

    What size nail do you use?

    What size mono do you use? Do you know if the bees accept a smaller test mono like 6 or 8 as oppesed to 50lb test?
    https://www.facebook.com/stevesbees99
    Please visit my page, Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    965

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    The bees won't care what size you use.

    I use 20# b/c that's what I had on hand.
    I'm more concerned with having a line size fat enough to hold the comb and not just cut through it when it is soft and heavy w/ nectar than with rated strength.

    I use small 1/2" frame nails.

    I pull the line nice and tight.

    I don't bother with them much in the brood nest anymore, as I'm faf less likely to damage comb soft comb there, and it's unlikely to be extracted.

    If I don't have any straight drawn comb I put foundationless frames between frames of foundation to keep the bees oriented.
    the simplest starter strip I've found (other than Kelley's foundationless frame, which looks like a time saver) is to turn the wedge in wedge frame 90 degrees leaving about a 1/8" starter, which is plenty.

    Have fun

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Massillon, Ohio
    Posts
    3,399

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    I do just about the same thing as Beregondo. I use old 15 - 20# test fishing line off of my surf reels before replacing the line. The bees will build comb thru any size you use. I'm not sure if I would go down to 6-8# test, that seems a little light. Line that light might be too flexible for this application .. but I'm not certain, I've never tried it.

    I use fishing line on all of my new foundationless frames. Sometimes they build too much drone comb for my liking on certain frames, and I like to cull those out of the brood nest boxes and use them in supers. This way the line is already embedded in the comb and is more stable for extracting if they end up in the honey supers.

    I also use 1/2" X 19 wire nails on the edge of the end bars to wrap the line around and that works just fine.
    To everything there is a season....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tyrone, Pennsylvania,USA
    Posts
    353

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Here's a pic of some home made frames with 20# fishing line. I have to agree with Mike about not using the lower test line.To hold the line I use carpet tacks.
    http://i1092.photobucket.com/albums/...s/DSC01944.jpg

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Gloucester County, New Jersey
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    I use 21ga stainless steel wire wire.jpg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wilmington, DE, USA
    Posts
    33

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    I think that this fatbeeman video might help: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwYrT8XhKf4

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Tyrone, Pennsylvania,USA
    Posts
    353

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie Honey View Post
    I use 21ga stainless steel wire wire.jpg
    Where can I find stainless steel wire? I have tried my local hardware store and Lowes with no luck,thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Portland, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    240

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Doesn't using wire defeat the purpose of the original question? Don't get me wrong, if you want to use wire, doo so. I t will work fine. I use fishing line for 3 main reasons; 1. it's cheap. 2. it's much easier to cut through when cycling out old comb, 3. I use the OTS system to raise queens. They seem to always build cells over the line. With wire that cell would most likely be lost. Those are my reasons for using line. Just my thoughts. Do what works best for you.
    Beeman
    All things may be lawful; but not all things are advantagous.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Massillon, Ohio
    Posts
    3,399

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Attachment 4041.

    I use all medium frames and run the mono line through the same pre-drilled holes used for wire, two strands horizontally. I attach the nails in the recessed part of the end bar. This allows me to scrape propolis from the upper part of the end bar and not snap or cut the line. I like to keep the wide part of the end bars cleaned up so the frames can be pushed as close together as possible in the box.
    To everything there is a season....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    South Jordan, Utah, USA
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    I purchased 30 frames to assemble as foundationless this winter. I used what I had on a reel (probably 8#) and started at the top and worked my way through the holes (no eyelets) all the way down to the bottom. Wrapped line around frame 3 times close together and then hit it with a 1/2" crown staple on the edge. Pulled line tight all the way back up to the top, wrapped three times and stapled that too. Cut off excess and off to the next one. I like the idea of heavier test line...mine did do a bit of stretching, no doubt! A month later and they are still taught in a cold garage. I suppose once the heat from being inside the hive gets to them, they'll lose some spring, but hopefully the bees will fill them out quickly.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Gloucester County, New Jersey
    Posts
    209

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Quote Originally Posted by DC Bees View Post
    Where can I find stainless steel wire? I have tried my local hardware store and Lowes with no luck,thanks.
    I run a chimney service biz and buy it from one of my suppliers.

    Here's a retail place http://www.elitedeals.com/cpf-16100.html
    I pay $13.88 but I'm wholesale.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Posts
    2,765

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    I use ultra fine mono but the bees chew through some of it at times, I'd go with at least 8#.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    1,383

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    I started with 50# test mono, ran out and used the large spool of 20# test.......I like the lighter line better, seems easier to work with.

    I usually put a 1/2" frame nail in where only about 1/8" of the nail is sticking out, wrap the line around it a few times and hammer it home. Oh ya, before doing that run the line through the frame where you want it to be! I then pull it taught and wrap it around the remaining nail and drive it home. Doesn't take long at all to do a box of frames.
    Coyote Creek Bees

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Fort Walton Beach, Florida
    Posts
    1,256

    Default Re: Using mono to wire foundationless frames

    Maybe I'll end up regretting this, but I haven't used nails to string my mono. I'm only putting line in my foundationless deep frames, and only using the two center holes. I run the line through all 4 holes, then pull it tight and tie an overhand double knot on the outside of the endbar. Mono slips enough that I can pull up on both ends to get tension, and yank the knot tight. I then put a dab of Titebond III on the knot to stabilize it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads