Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Cloake Board

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
    Posts
    876

    Default Cloake Board

    Does anybody know if anyone is making a 8 frame Cloake board yet? I have never seen a Cloake board except pictures of one on the internet. I was wandering if I could just slide a thin piece of sheet meatal inbetween my boxes, under a double screen board, if I cant find a 8 framer. I also think that I read on here somewhere that the double screen board inbetween the boxes was enough to make the bees up top think that they were queenless. And that you dont even need to slide the solid piece in the Cloake board, is anybody using this method? Thanks Steve
    https://www.facebook.com/stevesbees99
    Please visit my page, Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Chesterfield, NH
    Posts
    504

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    Quote Originally Posted by sfisher View Post
    Does anybody know if anyone is making a 8 frame Cloake board yet? I have never seen a Cloake board except pictures of one on the internet. I was wandering if I could just slide a thin piece of sheet meatal inbetween my boxes, under a double screen board, if I cant find a 8 framer. I also think that I read on here somewhere that the double screen board inbetween the boxes was enough to make the bees up top think that they were queenless. And that you dont even need to slide the solid piece in the Cloake board, is anybody using this method? Thanks Steve
    Cloake board 8 or 10 frame I do not know ???

    https://kelleybees.com/Products/Deta...32333033363330

    How to use a Cloake board

    http://robo.bushkillfarms.com/beekeeping/queen-rearing/

    You can use this with queen excluder under at if you like

    http://www.bushfarms.com/beesqueenrearing.htm#FWOF


    BEE HAPPY Jim 134
    Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA.
    http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    667

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    If you don't want to make one, you could just use a sheet of newspaper on a queen excluder and poke some holes in the paper. Just like a paper combine.

    The time delay would be enough for queen cells to be started.

    Just make sure there are plenty of nurse bees in the box above and there is a top entrance the opposite side to the bottom entrance.

    Matthew Davey

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
    Posts
    876

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    In my post above I meant to type queen excluder but I put double screen board instead.
    Jim I think that is a 10 framer
    Mathew the concept of using the newspapper sounds good to me. Have you ever tried it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Camas, WA
    Posts
    1,961

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    Before I had an actual Cloake Board, I used an excluder, an extra solid bottom board and a sheet of 1/4 inch plywood to do the same thing. I didn't even cut the plywood to fit exactly. It's only there for 24 hours. There is more lifting though. I'm thinking that I put I turned the bottom bottom board backwards and closed it. Then put the excluder in between boxes and put the other bottom board on the top to create a top entrance. Then I put the plywood over the excluder on the day that I wanted the boxes separated. You could create a top entrance any way that you want. Or use three pieces of wood over the excluder to create a mid entrance like the Cloake Board.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Evansville, IN, USA
    Posts
    2,837

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    Brushy Mountain has a lot of 8-frame items.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Chesterfield, NH
    Posts
    504

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave W View Post
    Brushy Mountain has a lot of 8-frame items.

    Not if but when the Plastic Queen Excluder in this Cloake Board breaks IMHO the Cloake Board is junk.Do not ask me know I know this.

    http://www.brushymountainbeefarm.com...oductinfo/632/

    http://www.brushymountainbeefarm.com...oductinfo/685/



    BEE HAPPY Jim 134
    Franklin County Beekeepers Association MA.
    http://www.franklinmabeekeepers.org/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    667

    Default Re: Cloake Board

    I've moved frames of brood above a queen excluder a few times and each time queens cells were made.

    I actually didn't even use newspaper, just the excluder, but there was a honey super in between the brood frames and the actual brood nest in each case. I'm sure adding newspaper would guarantee queen cells being started, especially if the box it directly on top of the brood nest.

    When I've only moved one frame of brood (probably only a a third or less brood) only one queen cell was made (done this twice). Looking at other threads, this is due to the numbers of nurse bees on the brood frames. When I moved several frames there were several queen cells.

    Matthew Davey

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads