Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Battle Ground , Washington, USA
    Posts
    710

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    I have several types, but the j-hook is the one i grab.
    I'm not tense, Just terribly, terribly alert!

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Menomonee Falls, Wis.
    Posts
    2,461

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    I use the old simple hive tool, but take a grinder to it and round off all of the edges where my hand is, then buff it with a scotchbrite wheel.

    Crazy Roland

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Phoenixville, PA
    Posts
    581

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.


  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    43,467

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    >Mike, do those Italian tool hooks fit between narrow frames?

    Yes. It's tighter, but it fits. The Maxant doesn't fit even with normal frames...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    DuPage County, Illinois USA
    Posts
    9,196

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    It does after an appointment with a bench grinder.
    Regards, Barry

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Issaquah,WA,USA
    Posts
    2,252

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    So I use 2 hive tools when inspecting. One of each in each hand. Only have 30-60 seconds to go through the hive most times. Smoker held by the knee's. So I use the one with the cage around it for safety. Now if you are not in the child bearing years you can use what ever, unless you are taking Viagra use the caged one also.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pinellass County, Florida
    Posts
    1,068

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    I'm Italian
    The tool of choice,
    ITALIAN

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Weeki Wachee, Florida,USA
    Posts
    1,821

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    Quote Originally Posted by Adam Foster Collins View Post
    Mike, do those Italian tool hooks fit between narrow frames? I'm finding some of my 9 frame 8's kind of tight...

    Adam
    I don't understand?
    Are you referring to prying on the ears of the frames?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    OKC, OK USA
    Posts
    2,870

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    The one I use is from Kelly and is the old standard tool with the addition of the j hook.
    Mike Forbes
    Red Dirt Apiaries

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Farmington, NM
    Posts
    755

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    My favorite!!
    kelleyhivetool.jpg
    Plant Hardiness Zone 6B, 5300 ft., Bee Zone A/B, Proverbs 24:13
    https://www.facebook.com/mobileprotection#!/2RBeeFarm

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    43,467

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    >It does after an appointment with a bench grinder.

    True. But I wish they would makee them to fit...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  12. #32
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    3,997

    Default Re: Need hive tool input plz.

    I think the 584, & 585 clean up the nicest, & stay sharp longer.
    Dan

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads