Hybrid View

Default Dadant small cell foundation

Does anyone here have expereince with using dadant 5.1 for first regression step, and then moving to 4.9? If so, how did it work out? and how long did it take? I am referring to established colonies.
    Donna

Default Re: Dadant small cell foundation

I have no experience with 5.1, but plenty with their 4.9 Foundation. I have used only 4.9 since 2007, and have used it for the installation of LC or unknown packages, nucs, and swarms with success. Bees will draw what they can draw. They do not always get it right the first time, but if they dont you can cull the frame and let them try again. As you might know there are a number of factors that play into the colony's comb building. If a strong flow is on, or they are being feed with large volume full access hive feeders, you might find that the cells are excessively large. More colonies than less do an admirable job with the 4.9 without any step down.

Quote Originally Posted by gkervitsky View Post
    I have no experience with 5.1, but plenty with their 4.9 Foundation. I have used only 4.9 since 2007, and have used it for the installation of LC or unknown packages, nucs, and swarms with success. Bees will draw what they can draw. They do not always get it right the first time, but if they dont you can cull the frame and let them try again. As you might know there are a number of factors that play into the colony's comb building. If a strong flow is on, or they are being feed with large volume full access hive feeders, you might find that the cells are excessively large. More colonies than less do an admirable job with the 4.9 without any step down.