Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SHB Question

Default SHB Question

I live in Alabama and have a few more beetles than I want in my hive. I have solid bottom boards on now but was thinking of doing the Freeman style bottom board with the oil tray and do powder sugar to knock them down. Since I am in my 1st year doing this is there any problems I could encounter? Its is in the low 80's and 50's at night here now. Do you have to overwinter bees with solid bottoms here in the south?

Thanks for anyones advice,

Clark

Default Re: SHB Question

I can answer one of those questions for you. No you don't have to overwinter with bottom boards in the south, seeing as you are furth south than me. I live in North Carolina and had one of my hives on a raised, screened bottom board all last winter. Thinking about it now, this may have led to some of the excess condensation I found at various times, but the hive did well. I am having to many beetles as well, if it were easier(ie I knew I could buy a tray that fits) I might try that route, but I am going to try the beetle jails.

i'm not sure why, but i have a neighbor that uses screened bottoms and mine are solid. he has a lot more beetles than i.

roll tide!
    journaling the growth of a treatment free apiary started in 2010. 20+/- hives

Quote Originally Posted by CChampion View Post
    I live in Alabama and have a few more beetles than I want in my hive. I have solid bottom boards on now but was thinking of doing the Freeman style bottom board with the oil tray and do powder sugar to knock them down. Since I am in my 1st year doing this is there any problems I could encounter? Its is in the low 80's and 50's at night here now. Do you have to overwinter bees with solid bottoms here in the south?

Thanks for anyones advice,

Clark