Default No Space left in TBH - What to do?

Hi,
    This is my first year as a beek. End of July I harvested two combs of honey. A couple days ago I checked in the hive to see if they had rebuilt the combs. They had and were full of capped honey. They have been attaching comb everywhere in the hive, including the sides and bottom. My concern is that they started to attach to the follower board I keep at the back of the hive and once they do this I won't be able to access the hive anymore without breaking the comb. I want to leave them the honey for the winter so am reluctant to harvest any more, but I also don't want them to continue attaching comb to the back board. What to do??

Thanks for any and all advice!
    Jane

Default Re: No Space left in TBH - What to do?

Jane, doing nothing is an option. At this time of year bees are setting up for winter, it may be better to let them alone until spring. You can always take honey in the spring if you want to. I would not worry about not being able to get in there now as you shouldn't need to.

As long as you can get a long knife between the follower and last comb you should be able to cut the attachments to the follower. You could also use what is called a false follower where there is a bee space around the wall and floor. This will allow you to reach past the follower to cut any attachments on the side walls. You can remove the false follower and last comb as a unit. Leave the two together as part of managing your hive. With this method you would need to use a spacer between the follower and back wall that can be removed so you have working room when the hive is full. No more than a 1/2" or they may build comb in that space.
    It's always a good idea to make sure you have some working room to get the first comb out of the hive.
    Last edited by Delta Bay; 09-22-2012 at 11:44 AM.

Hi Delta Bay,