Default Hive observation question

We are in drought and my bees aren't doing well so I've been feeding lots of sugar syrup, and I'm planning on adding pollen patties next week when I can get some. I would like to know how they're doing in there, but I don't want to set off robbing since all my bees are way short on stores and I'm pretty slow at manipulating the hive. So I'm trying to figure out what I can just by watching them go in and out.

Not seeing a lot of pollen, still. In five minutes, I saw two bees with their pollen baskets full. But I also saw some drones going into the hive. I know they get kicked out in the winter, but does that mean anything at any other time of the year? I guess I'm wondering if they kick drones out in drought when there isn't enough to eat and if having drones means they at least have enough for the short term, even if they don't have enough for winter?

Thanks. As you can tell, I'm pretty new to this. This is my second attempt at bees. Last year they took care of themselves, but didn't make it through winter. This year, I'm trying to do what I can to support them but I'm fighting a pretty nasty drought, too.

Default Re: Hive observation question

How many hives? Inside feeders or entrance feeders?

If you have a chicken watering can, put small stones in the bottom outside ring. then I suggest hanging. I will post a picture of mine. When the bees are making a mad dash to eat, check your hives. "Caution!!!" Mine seem to be hot right now, even ones with good queens. I had to put on my suit to get my truck away form the feeder.

Default Re: Hive observation question

I have two hives. I've been putting out quart chicken waterers out front full of little yellow blocks. Today they have more of a bucket with a ton of flowers floating on top just because my children picked a bunch of wildflowers for them so I thought they'd like their bouquet more if it was given to them in syrup.