Default Honey and type 2 diabetes

If so, do you still eat your honey? I have seen conflicting views on honey and diabetes. Some say it is good for diabetics. Others say its the same as any sugar and should be cut out. Any opinions?
    USDA Zone 5B

Default Re: Honey and type 2 diabetes

Be careful and follow your Dr's advice. That being said here's my experience, if I eat pancakes with syrup for breakfast I'm shaking like a leaf by lunchtime. If I replace the syrup with honey I have no issues
    But like I said I'm not a doctor
    There's not enough sheep dogs and the wolves are coming!!!!!!

I am 62, diabetic 30 years, on insulin entire time now with pump. I use honey on a regular basis. My Dr says honey is ok for me, just count the carbs and account for them. I have never had problems with honey, it is the big ole buttered biscuit that gives me trouble. I use a little honey almost daily. Moderation is the key. That is my opinion.

I have been a type1 diabetic for 41 years. Prior to switching to honey as my main sweetener, I had much more difficulty controlling my blood sugars and keeping my A1C down. Honey seems to allow me to have the sweetness I want and maintain tight control. I also agree with paintingpreacher, know your carb counts and how to allow for them in your daily routine.

TIMER, you sound more like Hypoglycemia then diabetes but then I am not diabetic. I am however hypoglycemic I do not eat anything sweet in the morning except honey due to the sugar crash or if I do I make sure and eat something with protein and carbohydrates also.

I highly recommend two books about honey and it's effect on the human body. Honey and sugar are NOT the same.

1. The Hibernation Diet by Mike and Stuart McInnes

2. The Honey Revolution by Ron Fessenden, MD, MPH and Mike McInnes, MRPS

~~~~~~~~~~