Default Bees crawling in front of hive/falling off hive

Hello. I'm new to beekeeping (got my first two nucs four months ago), and I have a sudden problem. Yesterday, bees were crawling around in front of their hive, and other bees were climbing on the outside of the hive, falling off and unable to fly. There is some orangish-brown material on the outside of the hive that could be dysentery. Some of the bees looked like they were "guarding" this material. Very strange. The only thing I have done differently is feed the bees bee tea instead of plain sugar syrup (bee tea = sugar syrup plus chamomile tea, a little sea salt, some thyme, and a little lemon juice to lower the pH of the syrup).

Could the tea be causing the dysentery? Or do they have nosema? This attack seems sudden and acute and I have no idea what to do at this moment. Any advice would be appreciated!
    Cheryl

Default Re: Bees crawling in front of hive/falling off hive

I don't know what to tell you but if it was me and I had just introduced something new to the bees and suddenly they started acting in a way that worried me....I'd quickly take away that "something" from them!

Ed

First thing I would do, is stop with this bee tea. Never heard of it. If the only thing you have done different is this, than that would be my first suspect. After removing,If it is dysentery, it should clear up in a day or two.

I would have to agree with Ken. Bee tea?! I am curious to see a picture of this material on the hive. Got any pictures?

Bee tea?? Where in the heck did you hear about that for bees!! I see your new here, you might want to do a search for feeding bees, you will not find bee tea or anything with the likes of tea for feeding bees that I know of and there are all types of bee keepers from hobby single hive keepers to large commerical guys and everything in between.