Hybrid View

Default Doing my first split(s) next week

OK preparing for next year I decided to do some splits. My first hive is 80% filled on the upper brood chamber and 60% on the lower. The queen is laying well and they are being fed with HBH & Amino B. I am going to split to 2 NUCs, I am building this weekend, and my new queens are shipping next Wed. (arrive on Thursday 23 Aug.). Is two brood, one honey, and two empty good for each of the new NUCs? I will be setting up a feeder for them too with the same blend of syrup as above. Quickly I will be building a second brood chamber for each for room to grow.
    I am going over Mike Bush's splits page and would appreciate any constructive advice. After Winter I will migrate the two NUCs to 8 or 10 frame Langs.
    Thanks
    Mike
    N5RWH - 9a

Default Re: Doing my first split(s) next week

I'm a beginner, but just inspected my two nucs' i made a couple of weeks back. I used a frame of brood and a frame of honey/Syrup.
    and three new frames of undrawn foundation. They both seem to be doing fantastic.

G.

I am making a nuc tomorrow. My new mated, carniolan, queen will arrive in the morning. My plan is for one frame of brood and one frame of honey and I am trying foundationless frames for the first time. We shall see. This is my first attempt at starting a nuc.
    Let me know how yours goes Mike.
    Greg Barnett
    7a

Don't forget some pollen! I try to make it so the bees don't really need to forage until one turnover of brood. Just a little insurance.

Before you add your queens to your queenless nucs, go over each frame real well and make sure that they didnt start a queen cell. If they did destroy it, or else the money you spent on new queens will be wasted.
    https://www.facebook.com/stevesbees99
    Please visit my page, Thanks