Hybrid View

Smile FLOW? What exactly is it and how do I know it's time?

I am a newbie Beek, this is my first hive. I'm super excited because it's doing well, and I've been enjoying it so much! I read/hear a lot about honey flow, nectar flow etc.. I live in Aurora CO, anyone know when that would be? And can someone explain what it actually IS! Thanks!

Default Re: FLOW? What exactly is it and how do I know it's time?

Honey flow: Period when bees are collecting nectar from plants in plentiful amounts.

Above is the definition from the glossary at the top of this section. As another newbie I think the trick is understanding the start & stop of the flow(s) in our area, plus any derth that feeding is needed. I did not expect any harvest during my first season while building up my first hive, 2June start and dealing with SHB issues. Also acquiring hardware as necessary to prepare for next season since I started late this year when box bees become available.

How these periods are determined is also something I would like to know as each area is different.
    Mike
    N5RWH - 9a

I have a good strong hive, I'm not sure I'll be collecting uber amounts of honey or anything, frankly the whole extraction thing is freaking me out a bit, it just seems like it's going to be such a hassle. However, I really wanted to do honey jars with comb. I saw an amazing article and wanted to do that, the author said you should be in flow, since we are having crops blooming and everything going wild here in CO right now (plant wise) even given the horrible heat, I think now is the flow time here. I have an acre of a huge garden myself that is in bloom and my bees are working double time in the corn and squash, beans etc... I think I'd be OK