Default What am I looking for when inspecting?

This is my first year of keeping bees. My best hive has 2 deep 10 frame brood boxes and 1 10 frame honey super on it. Can someone tell me exactly how I should be inspecting, taking the boxes off and removing frames? What should I be trying to find and do I need to inspect every frame in every box? How often should I do this complete inspection?

Default Re: What am I looking for when inspecting?

It's only my second year, so take this with a grain of salt until a more experience beek chimes in.
    My first year I went in about once a week. Mostly because I viewed my first year as a learning year and I found that the more exposure the bees I got the more comfortable I was around them and I began to develop my methods of handling the equipment and working with the bees.
    Don't bother to look for the queen every time. Look for eggs (learn to see them) and brood in various stages. That will indicate the queens presence and the quality of her laying pattern can also be noted.
    It will also speed up the inspection because as soon as you have seen eggs/brood you know you have a laying queen and should't have to do a frame by frame complete inspection.
    I typically won't go through every frame in every box but once a month or every 6 weeks, especially if you find good brood patterns higher up in the hive. No need to disturb everything if things seem to be going well.
    Look for queen cells. Number and location can indicate some problems in the hive. As to what they all mean and what to do about them, you'll never a straight answer because everybody has their own opinion. So form your own opinion as to what to do with them after reading a lot and consulting with experienced beeks.
    Supers, if they are adding honey and the super is getting heavy add another.
    That in a nutshell is how I operate. There are many many more variables, but it's a start.