Default What do these old combs tell you?

I obtained a bunch of free hive equipment this weekend with the added bonus of one box filled with bees. So far I've frozen all the comb and power washed the mediums, lids, bases, etc. I will be torching and painting that stuff too. I did get some really, really old comb which I'm pretty sure I will need to trash and then other that looks fine so not sure what I'll do with those yet.

I thought it would be fun to post some of the funky comb and get your opinions on what you think some of this stuff is. I have my guesses but this is my first year and I've never seen this before. So please; what do these old combs tell you?

Photo one, equipment score:

OldEquipment.jpg

Old Cruddy Combs:
    oldcomb3.jpgoldcomb1.jpgoldcomb2-moths.jpg

Pretty cool comb:
    OldComb5.jpg

Thumbs Up Re: What do these old combs tell you?

Looks like wax moth cocoons and webs....A wax moth in one of the pictures too. Wax moths probably moved in when the bees were either weak or gone. Do the frames contain wax foundation or plastic foundation -I see at least one plastic foundation? If its plastic, you may be able to scrape a lot of that old comb away and use the frame and foundation again. The bees will do a lot of cleaning of comb like that....Its a personal call, I don't know the point that you would say yes or no to a new foundation, but I see some that could go either way (less risk of new foundation when in doubt). HTH
    LeeB
    I try to learn from my mistakes, and from yours when you give me a heads up :)

Default Re: What do these old combs tell you?

Some of the palstic foundation can be rebuilt by the bees save that stuff. The other dark drone/wall combs can be thrown away
    AKA BEEMAN800

scrape it off and render the wax. In the pic of the old equipment, is that a West Beetle trap on the right? -js

As the current bee mania fizzles out we will be hearing a lot more stories like this.

HTML Code: