Default Bees capping honey in undrawn foundation

In case you didn't read that correctly, what I mean is this....my bees are capping honey in foundation that hasn't been drawn out yet. I'm only in my second year of beekeeping so I don't have any drawn out foundation in my supers. The bees put little dabs of nectar ( I'm assuming) in the cells and capped it over. Funniest thing I ever saw.

Can anybody tell me if there's anything I should do about this? My plan is to just leave them alone and hope that they get a little more ambitious and actually build the cells out. I have plastic with wax coating on wooden frames.

Default Re: Bees capping honey in undrawn foundation

Can you post a picture of that? I've never seen that before.

Adam

Janer, I found the same thing in some of my hives a couple of years ago. I dont know what caused it but I haven't seen it since.

Dave

Highly irregular. They generally do not cap any cells of cured honey at less than brood-rearing depth - about a half inch. Since their late winter expansion format calls for rearing brood in honey cells, and they don't have wax-making capability at that time, partial cells of honey can stay open indefinately. But it's fair game for consumption or moving to where it is needed.

Walt

I'll don my suit and get a photo or two this morning.

https://picasaweb.google.com/JaneSch...pectionJuly10#

Here are a few photos of my situation. As I got into the middle deep I found that I had more than a honey storage problem.....it appears that I'm queenless. Any advice on what might be going on here? I've been absent from my house the majority of the last three weeks due to a hospice situation with my mother-in-law, so the hive inspections have taken a back burner. They might have swarmed, who knows? I'm going to leave them to their own solutions at this point.
    Thanks in advance...